Blog – Ecommerce Developer | Weismann Web https://www.weismannweb.com Weismann Web is a ecommerce web development company that lives and breathes ecommerce design, development and marketing. We help store owners customize their cart and sell their products. Sun, 09 Dec 2018 03:15:09 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 Why Customers Leave Your Site without Buying Anything https://www.weismannweb.com/conversion-optimization/ https://www.weismannweb.com/conversion-optimization/#respond Fri, 30 Oct 2015 23:27:00 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5483 Regardless of how attractive and well-designed your website is, it may seem like it doesn’t bring you the results you expect. If your customers leave quickly, without buying anything, you should probably take a systematic approach to improve your website performance. This approach is defined as conversion optimization, and it is all about making the […]

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Regardless of how attractive and well-designed your website is, it may seem like it doesn’t bring you the results you expect. If your customers leave quickly, without buying anything, you should probably take a systematic approach to improve your website performance. This approach is defined as conversion optimization, and it is all about making the most out of the traffic you already have.

The importance of conversion optimization

Conversion optimization is very valuable when figuring out what customers search for when visiting your website. At its core, it is based on the key performance indicators that business-owners try to improve; therefore, it takes many different forms. In some cases, conversion optimization involves removing some pointless or complex steps which may cause your customers to leave your site without buying your products.

Conversion Optimization

In other words, conversion optimization/ecommerce optimization is used to enhance any website feature that is crucial to your business development. It helps you increase the percentage of website visitors and turns passive visitors into valuable converting users.

Reasons why customers leave your ecommerce website without making a purchase

Even though you are getting traffic to your attractive ecommerce website, you’re not making enough profit. There are a few reasons for this, as well as suggestions on how to prevent future losses.

1. Security issues

According to recent statistics, about 20% of the users leave an ecommerce website quickly, without buying anything, if they are not content with its security measures. Moreover, about 50% of customers claim they will complete a purchase if they feel the website provides a high security level.

In order to prevent this issue, you should offer payment options that don’t require sharing card details, such as PayPal. There’s nothing more important than assuring your customers that their card details are safe and secure.

2. Complex site navigation

Poor site navigation can be another obstacle for potential customers. The more clicks they have to make to complete a sale, the greater the chances are of them leaving and not returning again.

Speaking of ecommerce optimization, it is advisable to never underestimate the power of a good website structure. It is important to make the purchasing process as easy as possible, consolidate the website pages and ensure they load fast. Try to avoid confusion and numerous clicks while completing a sale and your customers will appreciate it.

3. Time consuming registration and unexpected costs

Over 50% of online customers state they would leave an ecommerce website if asked to register. They don’t like following links, as well as verifying passwords and accounts, since it takes time to do it, thus causing irritation. It is advisable to assume that customers are always in a hurry, so the process of purchasing products should be simple and easy.

Unexpected costs are also a deal-breaker for many customers. There’s nothing more annoying when you find the perfect product, add it to the shopping cart and learn there’s an extra cost you have to pay! It’s essential to inform your customers upfront about any extra costs involved, so that they can decide whether to proceed with the purchase or not.

4. Poor delivery service and high shipping rates

Delivery services and shipping rates play an important role in the purchasing process. Over 70% of customers would shop at online retailers that offer free delivery. If you don’t offer free delivery, it can prove costly on your way to success.

Your estimated delivery time is also very important to customers. Even if your shipping rates are low, your customers may search for better delivery options if they think that the delivery time is slow. They may also give up on the idea of making another purchase in the future. So, it is always good to investigate faster and lower cost choices.

Since delivery time and rates are so important to customers, it is useful to offer them a few options regarding their order. Offering options like one-day delivery and standard delivery gives customers the freedom to make a choice. They can choose the time and price that suits them best and will appreciate the options you offer. After all, not everyone can afford paying a higher price for one-day delivery.

Stay in touch with your customers and reward loyalty

Communication is an important factor in any business, be it online or physical. It’s a key element to keeping your customers’ attention and finding out what they like (or dislike) about your offers. Therefore, it is advisable to ensure they can contact you and leave a comment on your website. By responding to their compliments and complaints, you create an opportunity to stay in touch and leave a positive impression about your brand.

Furthermore, keeping your customers informed about your latest sales and promotions is essential. The main point is to make them feel that you care about them before and after they make a purchase. Sending an e-mail to ensure that everything has gone as expected can contribute a lot toward a positive experience.

Rewarding your customers’ loyalty is also very valuable for your business. Giving them an incentive, a reason to come back and order again communicates respect and appreciation. Such incentives may include loyalty vouchers or cards, gifts and special discounts for those who make a purchase online. Keeping your customers happy will soon help you gain a competitive edge over your competitors.

Provide an enjoyable purchasing experience for your customers

Remember that in the business world, it is all about having customers who are content. Conversion optimization will optimize your customers’ purchasing experience online and increase your profits. So, try to identify when potential customers leave your site and make some changes to keep the purchasing process simple and fast. Provide an enjoyable purchasing experience to your customers and improve your profit margins.

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Easy Strategies for Winning at PPC Marketing for Ecommerce https://www.weismannweb.com/winning-at-ppc-marketing-for-ecommerce/ https://www.weismannweb.com/winning-at-ppc-marketing-for-ecommerce/#respond Mon, 27 Jul 2015 17:38:24 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5499 You have probably paid a lot of money to have someone build your website. Now you stand in awe, admiring what you think is a true piece of art. However, you’re not getting the traffic you expect and deserve. After trying out various guerrilla tactics for attracting attention to the site, you are currently thinking […]

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You have probably paid a lot of money to have someone build your website. Now you stand in awe, admiring what you think is a true piece of art. However, you’re not getting the traffic you expect and deserve. After trying out various guerrilla tactics for attracting attention to the site, you are currently thinking about starting a ppc marketing campaign. In other words, you are here because you are searching for ppc marketing for ecommerce tips.

What is PPC marketing?

PPC stands for pay-per-click (advertising). The boiled down version means that you simply set up a digital ad campaign, and only pay when a click has been registered in the advertising system. 

The most popular PPC platforms at the moment are, of course, Google’s AdWords, the Yahoo! Bing network, Facebook, and Advertising.com. They all have their unique features, so you should see which platform suits your needs best.

PPC marketing can be very expensive or cheap regarding return on investment – it depends on your knowledge and skills when it comes to creating a campaign according to your business needs, product or service attributes, and the target market.

Hence, what follows is advice that will show you what you need to do to win at PPC marketing.

Focus your message (and find niche keywords)

Focusing your message by targeting the group of people with the highest conversion rate is absolutely crucial. To apply this, you should follow the Pareto principle, which states that 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes. Or, translated in terms of conversion: 80% of your sales come from 20% of your clients. 

Find those 20% – Do you have the best pasta money can buy? Target people that love pasta. Yes, pizza and burrito lovers are related and advertising to them might turn into website clicks, but your conversion rate will be lower. This will raise the costs of the campaign.

To achieve the desired results, you have to focus on good writing and using the right keywords. Ads are usually very limited in terms of space, so you’ll have to figure out how to convey your message using as few words as possible. To maximize the effect of your ad, make use of emotions. Emotional messaging can really get the attention of potential customers. Just avoid being too melodramatic or cheesy. Aim for strong, clear and succinct messages.

Choosing the right keywords is considered a science on its own. As mentioned above, you should aim at discovering niche keywords that will allow you to push your marketing campaign using keywords that are not that common, thus giving you a competitive edge. However, be careful. Some keywords are marked by search engines and ad services for quality restriction, meaning you’ll have to churn up more money (than usual) to use them.

Be efficient (calculate your cost-per-click rate)

You’ve spent $200 on an ad campaign. However, sales have only made you a profit of $50. What do you think? Of course, the results are weak, if not outright bad. The main point of starting a PPC campaign is to increase revenue and get benefits, right? 

Therefore, to be efficient, you’ll have to calculate your cost-per-click (CPC) rate. This can be calculated by determining your conversion rate, total clicks and profit-per-conversion. Conversion rate shows how many of the people that clicked on your website through your ad campaign actually purchased something or did what you wanted them to do. It can be calculated.

One way to calculate your CPC rate is by using the following formula:

Cost-per-click = conversion rate x total clicks x profit-per-conversion

Let’s say 0.5% of your visitors actually make a purchase. When you average their purchases, it turns out they spend $10 each. Your campaign brings you 500 clicks per month. You pay 0.5$ for each click, which amounts to $250 in total (500 clicks x $0.5 = $250).

Let’s see the calculation now:

CPC = 0,5% x 500 x $10 = $25

So you earn only $25 through your campaign even though you’ve spent $250 dollars on it. It’s time to follow the advice in this article and modify or stop your campaign altogether if there is no point in running it.

Pay attention to SEO (go for quality)

Search engines optimize their search results according to your search engine optimization (SEO) efforts. The same applies to PPC platforms, especially the ones that are related to search engine giants (such as AdWords and Yahoo! Bing network). 

In the end, it all boils down to improving the organic quality of your website. Good SEO includes various practices and tactics to enhance your website, especially in terms of responsiveness, organic and original content, absence of punishable SEO tricks, etc.

Your web designer should build the most intuitive and optimized website possible. If you happen to think that your website takes too long to load (something that could earn you negative points with PPC platforms), you might consider engaging a professional experienced in website optimization. You can also consider transferring your website to another, faster hosting server which will improve your rankings.

Adjust when things don’t work

So far, you might have noticed that your PPC campaign doesn’t exactly have the best CPC rate possible. When you notice such situations, be ready to make changes and adjustments.

Some platforms let you change your keywords, main ad text, bidding amount and other options even if the campaign has already been started. Do this and sit back for a while, watching as your CPC rate starts changing. Nobody is an expert in PPC marketing right from the start. If you cannot do business with an experienced campaigner, trial and error, along with studying and analysis, are the only tools that will help you achieve your goal.

One more thing to note here: use your best selling points and emphasize them. Avoid showing your shortcomings and make an effort to eliminate them altogether.

Outbid when you know you are the best

You know you have one of the best products or services on the market, but other advertisers get shown more often in ads? Try your best to outbid them. If you really do have an exceptional product or service in your domain of work, it is only a matter of putting it right before the eyes of potential customers, and you can watch as the number of satisfied clients and referrals grows.

Therefore, if you see that the competitors outbid you, try outbidding them by increasing the money spent per click at first. Take some time to see if anything changes. Use different platforms, change the periods and days when your ads are shown, and target different devices, such as tablets, smartphones and desktops.

Be persistent and never forget that success may be just around the corner.

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Main Benefits of Self Hosted Shopping Carts https://www.weismannweb.com/main-benefits-of-self-hosted-shopping-carts/ https://www.weismannweb.com/main-benefits-of-self-hosted-shopping-carts/#respond Thu, 02 Jul 2015 02:36:21 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5491 It seems like ecommerce is growing rapidly nowadays. People enjoy online shopping mostly due to the numerous choices and promotions. Considering the benefits of the online shopping experience, many businessmen decide to start their own business online, developing a shopping cart. While some entrepreneurs choose carts which are hosted by a company, there are many […]

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It seems like ecommerce is growing rapidly nowadays. People enjoy online shopping mostly due to the numerous choices and promotions. Considering the benefits of the online shopping experience, many businessmen decide to start their own business online, developing a shopping cart. While some entrepreneurs choose carts which are hosted by a company, there are many who decide to create outstanding self hosted shopping carts.

Being new to the online business and thinking of a platform to host your ecommerce site, you’ll have to choose one of two options. Speaking of deciding on the type of shopping cart, there are some immense differences between the two platforms. While you may find hosted carts simple to start with, self-hosted shopping carts offer you valuable advantages that many retailers find much more important.

Customers take advantage of online shopping carts when placing numerous orders.

Why are self hosted shopping carts awesome?

Having a hosted platform is all about having a third-party company to support and manage your shopping cart. As encouraging as it may sound, there are many elements that are more favorable when having a self hosted cart. Self hosted shopping carts have given rise to the online retail stores worldwide. Hosting and managing a cart offers numerous benefits, some of which you’ll find in the following lines.

One of the major advantages of having a self hosted shopping cart is that it is free when it comes to viewing, altering, running and copying modifications. Self-hosting and self-managing a cart means easy access to the source code and saving money at the same time. So, if you have just started your own business, with a limited budget and some knowledge, a self-hosted cart is surely worth your effort.

Meanwhile, having a hosted cart requires you to pay a monthly fee so the host provider can manage and run it instead of you. In the long run, the cost of having a hosted shopping cart is much higher, compared to the self hosted choice. Besides, self-hosted platforms are all about full control and various choices.

Having a self-hosted cart gives you complete control over your own online store and the way your consumers make a purchase. In the meantime, hosted platforms offer limited choices since the hosting company does all the work.

Another benefit of the self hosted platforms is easy data transferring. When the ecommerce site owner decides to move to a different platform, all data can be easily transferred. This benefit gives the shopping cart owner more freedom and is very important when they want to make some major changes.

Self hosted shopping carts go beyond the limits

Hosting your own shopping cart is the right option to choose when you want more than a few popular features to pick from. When your shopping cart is hosted by a company, you don’t have many options. Usually, hosted platforms offer some basic elements (catalog and shopping cart), but are poor in terms of templates in many foreign languages.

Depending on how quickly your business is growing and expanding, you may soon find such limitations very unfavorable. Having the option of creating a cart in a certain foreign language that is not offered by a hosting company may be your key to success. So, if you require a lot of customization in order to create an outstanding ecommerce shopping cart – you should definitely go with the self hosted option.

Customers want nothing more than a convenient and easy way to shop online.

Self hosted shopping carts enable more complex hosting. This means that you can make different sites share the same resources, such as product and service lists. This is essential for most online businesses, but is not offered by a hosted solution.

Moreover, if your business is expanding rapidly, you may want to get a higher level of back-end integration with your shopping cart software. Again, the hosted shopping cart option may not provide such an opportunity.

Self hosted shopping carts maximize customer satisfaction

The main point of a self hosted platform is offering your customers an outstanding experience while they are making a purchase online. Focusing on maximizing customer satisfaction will always give you an advantage in terms of competition. If your customers rate your shopping cart as excellent, it means that you are on the right track to get the competitive edge.

Self hosted carts can help you create a consistently positive customer experience by exceeding the standard options for purchasing products and services. This type of platform solutions lets you provide a superior service for the customers and turn them into loyal buyers. If your ecommerce store, along with the shopping cart, impresses them, they will continue doing business with you.

Another essential benefit of self hosted shopping carts is the opportunity to initiate customer referrals. People always respond well to referrals, especially demanding customers. They are crucial for increasing the number of sales and vital for the success of every business.

By focusing on improving the customer’s online shopping experience, you can compensate for the areas of your business which are not as strong as your service. A self hosted platform gives you the opportunity to improve your customer service in such areas and get a positive customer referral out of every customer. Positive referrals are the best marketing tool that will directly increase your profits and the success of your business in general.

Using self hosted shopping carts can largely contribute to the success of your business.

The benefits of self hosted shopping carts are vital for your business’ success

Choosing self hosted shopping carts can be highly beneficial for your business. Some previous knowledge is required to set up and run a new ecommerce store, but these carts help you develop your business without any limitations or setbacks.

The self hosted platform costs are affordable, while the opportunities are limitless. You can be as creative as you want and create an eye-catching, outstanding ecommerce website with a fabulous shopping cart.

It is essential to remember that choosing the right platform is the key to success for your business. Therefore, choosing the right shopping cart option is vital. Self-hosted shopping platforms provide you with limitless control to set up and develop a shopping cart that fits your needs and customer expectations.

 

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4 Essential Components Your Site Needs if You Are Doing PPC Marketing https://www.weismannweb.com/essential-website-components-for-ppc-marketing/ https://www.weismannweb.com/essential-website-components-for-ppc-marketing/#respond Wed, 30 Sep 2015 23:26:00 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5478 Today, many companies make use of Pay-Per-Click, i.e. PPC marketing for driving traffic to their websites. In fact, research shows that PPC marketing efforts make up around fifty percent of overall search engine marketing strategies used by companies worldwide. If you use it properly, this marketing tool can bring great results at a low cost. […]

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Today, many companies make use of Pay-Per-Click, i.e. PPC marketing for driving traffic to their websites. In fact, research shows that PPC marketing efforts make up around fifty percent of overall search engine marketing strategies used by companies worldwide. If you use it properly, this marketing tool can bring great results at a low cost.

PPC can be used for selling goods, services, and raising awareness about important issues. It can help you reach people who are somewhat interested in what you have to offer, and direct them to your website.

If you hire someone to craft a good PPC management solution for your campaign, you can generate traffic right away. Sometimes, PPC generates traffic within minutes from the moment a campaign starts. Unlike other forms of marketing which can take months to adjust to new trends, PPC marketing allows you to adjust your campaign within hours. This ability to follow the latest market conditions and trends can give you a great competitive advantage.

PPC marketing seems very simple – you only need to spend enough money, and you will get top placement for targeted traffic, right? Wrong. Although it is pretty straightforward, PPC demands good management skills to bring good results. While a number of factors influence the success of a PPC marketing campaign, you need to know that your website is one of the crucial ones.

How to prepare your website for a successful PPC marketing campaign?

Search engines allow advertisers to place their PPC ads prominently in the search engine results. However, the ad placement and price depend on various aspects. For example, Google and Bing give Quality Scores based on their examination, and use them to determine your ad’s position.

They examine the ad itself, its performance, and the quality of the page which the ad points to. A good score can help you significantly reduce costs. A bad score, on the other hand, can even knock your ad off the rankings.

Let’s assume that you’ll manage to get the position you need in the search engine results. You have a well written ad, with all the right keywords in all the right places. You start your campaign, and you expect to get your first clicks. But, where will these clicks lead the people you target?

There’s no doubt that PPC marketing can get you the traffic you need. But, if you don’t manage that traffic well, you’ll end up spending a lot of money for many useless visits without any relevant end results. You need to prepare your website to welcome new visitors and convince them to do what you expect of them.

You can maximize your website’s ability to convert visitors into customers in many ways. However, there are four essential components that you need to pay special attention to if you want your PPC marketing efforts to pay off.

1. Effective landing pages

The success of your PPC efforts depends largely on the pages where people land after they click your ad. If you want to motivate people to make favorable actions, you need to state and show them what exactly you want them to do. This means you should never set your PPC ad to point to your homepage, because your new visitors will most probably bounce.

Create landing pages that speak to your target audience and select a specific target for your PPC campaign. Don’t try to sell to everyone at once. If you want to reach diverse target audiences, do it with different ads and different landing pages. Be straightforward and relevant. Associate your landing pages with what your ads are saying. Give people what they want when they click your ad.

In order to be effective, your landing pages have to be clear, professional, and consistent with your brand. Be careful with the colors, text, images and calls to action. Make sure that your landing page takes your target audience exactly where you want it.

2. Simple conversion process

This goes for both your landing pages and the website itself. Every new visitor you gain with your PPC campaign can easily vanish if you are wasting their time. People use the internet to speed up the process of getting what they need. Have this in mind when you craft your conversion process.

Make things simple from the start to the very end of the selling funnel. Do not ask for more information than necessary for people to convert. Try to squeeze all your questions in one page. Otherwise, add a progress bar so people will know where they are in the funnel.

Give your customers the option to register through their social media profiles. Put your terms and privacy policies on separate links so people can choose what they want to read. Make your forms intuitive and enable the auto-fill option.

3. Optimized user experience

Your entire website needs to be optimized to work flawlessly on all the major browsers, operating systems and devices. There should be no errors while displaying content, graphics or interactive media.

Your site has to load quickly, or your traffic will go to waste. Compress and optimize your content so it won’t slow down the website’s loading time. Never put your videos on auto-play, since it can significantly slow down the page.

Optimize your website for mobile devices. Otherwise, you risk losing a huge part of your target audience. Today, a majority of people are browsing and searching the net through their smartphones and tablets. They make purchasing decisions on the go. So, let them find you easily at any time.

4. Reliable tracking 

What’s the use of investing in marketing if you can’t measure and analyze the results? This applies especially to PPC marketing. Why waste your money if you don’t attract the right audience? And what good is there in attracting your targets to your website if they are not converting?

If you want your PPC campaign to run smoothly and bring you the benefits you expect, provide tools for reliable tracking. In order to be able to measure the ROI of your campaign, you will need to track both traffic and conversions.

Take the opportunity to collect as much data as you can. It will give you a clear perspective of the PPC marketing campaign and its effects. It will show you if you do everything well. You’ll be able to increase the effectiveness of current and future PPC campaigns based on reliable data. Do not settle with average results. Do your best to get the most out of what PPC marketing has to offer.

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How to Choose the Right Paid Traffic Source for Your Business https://www.weismannweb.com/how-to-choose-the-right-paid-traffic-source/ https://www.weismannweb.com/how-to-choose-the-right-paid-traffic-source/#respond Thu, 27 Aug 2015 20:41:49 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5508 I believe that you have spent a great deal of effort to set up an attractive website and keep it working flawlessly. But, as you already know, the website itself cannot attract as many visitors as you need to keep your business results positive. This is where paid web traffic comes into play. The only […]

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I believe that you have spent a great deal of effort to set up an attractive website and keep it working flawlessly. But, as you already know, the website itself cannot attract as many visitors as you need to keep your business results positive. This is where paid web traffic comes into play. The only question is – how to choose the right paid traffic source that fits your business needs best?

The process of selecting a paid traffic source starts with some research and proper preparation for the traffic that is yet to come. Good advertising is all about combining the perfect message with the perfect audience to reap the most of what it has to offer. If you manage to make this perfect combination, you will help your ideal prospects move forward with your products or services.

How to prepare for paid traffic?

The good news about paid traffic is that you don’t have to spend hundreds of dollars to promote your business online. All you need is a good game plan to get the greatest ROI of the budget available for online promotion.

Start crafting your game plan by getting to know your market. Try to gain a deeper understanding of your ideal prospects. What is their age range, income, gender, and marital status? How do they spend their free time? Do they have hobbies? What type of books, online articles, and TV shows do they like?

You need to get all this information, so that you can identify with the market and your target audience. This way, you will be able to create personalized messages and connect with your prospects on a deeper level. And that’s when you can sell your offerings.

The next step of creating your game plan for paid traffic is determining where you can find your prospects online. Do your research and collect detailed information about all your target groups. Find out where you can meet your customers online based on their gender, interests, browsing habits, and education. You can do this by evaluating your current customer base and website visitors.

As soon as you have a clear picture about your market, make your action plan with a strategy that will help you connect with your prospects. Nowadays, it’s not enough to just have an advertisement online. You need to make an effort to create an ad that will match the needs of your prospects. This means giving some thought about the headlines, copies and images included in your paid traffic ads.

How to choose the right paid traffic source?

Well, you will get some pointers on where to find your audience online while doing your research. But today, people are actively present on various online platforms, so you will probably end up with multiple answers. Moreover, you may want to experiment and try to reach a new market segment.

The best way to determine the right paid traffic source for your business is learning about the various options out there. This way, you can mix and match different sources and drive as much traffic as you can with the budget you have. Essentially, you need to keep an eye on 2 groups of paid traffic sources – search engines and social media.

Search engines

Google and Bing are the biggest paid web traffic sources due to people’s habit to search for everything they need through these two search engines. The paid traffic solutions leverage information about the keywords that people use when looking for products and services online.

As soon as someone types in one of the selected keywords, your ad will appear in a prominent position in the search results. By displaying your ad to those who are already looking for your product, these search engine paid traffic sources help you grow your business quickly.

Google AdWords

You can sign up for Google AdWords for free and pay only when someone clicks your ad. It gives you the option to choose the budget you are most comfortable to start with, and change it later, according to your needs. You can easily measure the effectiveness of your ad in generating web traffic and try using new keywords.

Bing Ads

With Bing Ads, you have the options for local and mobile advertising, and device targeting. It offers simple and efficient advertising, with an option to import Google AdWords campaigns. You can use web analytics to evaluate and optimize your paid traffic campaign. You also have control over your budget with bid modifiers.

Social media

Today, the biggest social media platforms offer very effective solutions for targeted advertising. Since millions of people use these platforms daily, each of them gives you the opportunity to reach a great deal of your prospects.

Facebook

In order to use Facebook ads, you’ll need to create a page for your business. Based on people’s likes, Facebook targets your audience and optimizes your web traffic. You can also target people based on their age, gender, and occupation, as well as do geographic, contextual, and behavioral targeting.

Twitter

Twitter offers targeting your audience by linking your business to a particular keyword, people’s interests, or followers. You have the option to choose if you want to promote your business Twitter Account, Tweets, or trends. You can set a budget for a maximum bid and only pay for engagement, similarly to the way search engines work. Twitter also lets you measure the effectiveness of your ad and retarget with special offers and promotions.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn is a great option for business to business advertising. You can choose to promote your business through sponsor updates, InMail, and display and text ads. Your ads can be targeted by job title, job function, gender, age, location, skills, industry, and company size. LinkedIn has a social organic side of posting inside groups and daily posts. It also has a great PPC (pay per click) ad platform.

YouTube

Due to its video content, YouTube attracts a huge number of visitors every single day. You can use it to post videos with CTAs for people to visit your website, or simply place banner ads on relevant videos. YouTube offers the option to choose the categories that best fit your business and promote it in those video categories.

StumbleUpon

Stumble Upon is a unique platform that drives your audience directly to your landing page. It does not require any clicking on ads or links. Based on the interests that can be associated with your products or services, your site will be presented to the appropriate prospects.

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5 Powerful and Underused Strategies for Ecommerce Marketing https://www.weismannweb.com/5-powerful-and-underused-strategies-for-ecommerce-marketing/ https://www.weismannweb.com/5-powerful-and-underused-strategies-for-ecommerce-marketing/#respond Mon, 27 Jul 2015 00:00:01 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5495 Better SEO – we all want it, we all strive to earn it. Some use shady and dishonorable tactics for their ecommerce marketing activities, some use standard white-hat techniques that used to work great in the past, while some employ specialized SEO firms. This is all great, but if you are an overworked entrepreneur that has little time […]

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Better SEO – we all want it, we all strive to earn it. Some use shady and dishonorable tactics for their ecommerce marketing activities, some use standard white-hat techniques that used to work great in the past, while some employ specialized SEO firms.

This is all great, but if you are an overworked entrepreneur that has little time at their disposal, it might mean either spending a lot of money or having no free time… for years on end.

What if we tell you that there are underused, but very effective tactics for marketing an ecommerce website that you can employ to stand out from the crowd and save a bit of time? You have probably already seen them somewhere online, but haven’t recognized them as such.

Our purpose is to encourage you to focus on them and proactively use them to increase traffic to your site – and earn more money.

Let’s roll.

1. Write guest articles

Yes, you have seen this done before and it seems so… organic, right? Well, it is. Guest articles carry their weight of candor and value because of several reasons.

The first reason is obvious – someone has accepted someone else’s guest article on their blog, which automatically adds to the value of the guest writer, especially if the host has earned their respect. The second reason is that guest articles have that organic feel to them since they represent a personal opinion or a piece of professional advice actually written by someone who is an expert in the field. And the third one is that these articles are only read if someone (i.e. readers) are interested in them!

Writing guest articles has become more common lately, but it is still an underused tactic to perform organic marketing and transfer more traffic to your ecommerce site. Big search engines have begun their crackdown on guest blogging, but that doesn’t mean that this tactic is not viable anymore.

It means that you only have to change its appearance, in accordance with your host. For example, instead of writing a plain old guest article, you can try making a joint program/offer with your partner, which both of you can host on your own site independently – and without using the “guest article” form.

However, even if you both prefer to guest write an article the old fashioned way, that only means that search engines will not bring it up as a search result. You will still get most of the value that comes with it, like generating awareness, initiating conversation about you, your expertise and offers, building relationships, and attracting high quality traffic to your ecommerce site.

2. Write testimonials for other companies

Okay, so you’ve (somehow) built your site and hosted it with big name service, such as GoDaddy or WPEngine. You got what you needed from them. Why don’t you ‘use’ them to get more SEO benefits by offering to write a testimonial?

That’s right – writing a testimonial necessarily includes the name of the author and their website, which – guess what – increases traffic. Contact your hosting service provider and offer to write a testimonial. Chances are, they will publish it on their site somewhere, especially if you say something nice about them.

Make sure that you have genuine respect, and even love for that company. Dishonest writing will be recognized by readers, as it will look cheesy, and will reduce your own worth and authority on the subject matter you are professing, even if you are the best expert around. However, honest writing will go a long way and bring traffic to your website from the most unexpected places.

3. Create infographics

With the recent ‘crackdown’ on guest blogging (largely because of spammers, of course), there is now a gap in the organic links and marketing ideas that bring traffic. All the old tricks have already been overused by everyone, some new tactics are simply inefficient, and some are actively discouraged by search engines (of course, we’re talking about guest blogging here).

However, some tactics are still buried deep under the surface of awareness, but generate a massive amount of traffic to sites. One example is the idea of using infographics. Infographics offer engaging, vibrant content that can be easily shared and attracts traffic to the website that has created and hosts it.

Why doesn’t everyone create infographics, then? Well, most of them don’t know that infographics even exist as a viable ecommerce online marketing strategy. Those that do know are aware of how difficult it is to create an infographic – if they don’t have the right tools or people. There are services on the Internet that can help you create an infographic by letting you select your own icons and graphics, type your own text, place elements etc.

This can serve as a good way to start, since you can always forward your draft or beta version of the infographic to someone that is creating them regularly and has the knowledge to make the necessary finishing touch.

And then, if you serve your infographic to the right audience at the right time, you’ll start to see increased traffic. Just make sure to include a few things. First, include an embed code or at least host the picture on your site/blog, so that people can backlink to it. Second, make note for the reader that it is forbidden for people to share the infographic without including the backlinking information. Third, make sure it looks professional, clean and compelling.

You can even make a deal with another site’s owner to share your infographic on their site or blog, with the obligatory backlinking information, of course.

4. Get involved in forums that belong to your domain

You want to show how great of an expert you are? You can write your own blog, but it will all be in vain if people don’t read it and see you as the expert you know you are. So, how about visiting forums in your field of expertise?

Find a forum in your field, register, and start writing responses and helping less knowledgeable folks with their issues. If you perform this masterfully, you will quickly gain acknowledgement of your expertise and professionalism. But, how do you attract people to your site without outright bothering (spamming) them?

You should just create a nicely crafted signature on the forum that contains (a link to) your site in it. This signature will be shown to everyone, and people who are interested to know more about you will click it – generating more traffic and increasing your revenue.

Easy, clean and unobtrusive, right?

5. Use sincere emotions

Didn’t expect this one, did you? You want to engage your visitors to make a purchase on your ecommerce site? If so, use emotions and be yourself. Too many businesses and their ecommerce websites are cold and remote. People nowadays appreciate the characters in the story. Only a few of us can appreciate a story without minding the subjects that perpetuate it.

Use stories. Explain yourself and your purpose – Is it to help others achieve something? Or to provide better quality than the competition? Whatever it is, make sure you know it and then communicate it. When people detect the underlying sincerity and drive for success, they will increase the purchase rate and rest assured that they are in the hands of a true professional.

Now, how about implementing these little tricks, eh?

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6 Overlooked Areas for Easy Ecommerce Conversion Rate Improvements https://www.weismannweb.com/6-overlooked-ecommerce-conversion-rate-improvements/ https://www.weismannweb.com/6-overlooked-ecommerce-conversion-rate-improvements/#respond Thu, 02 Jul 2015 00:00:01 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5487 Ecommerce conversion rate is one of the most important, and yet the most neglected aspects of online retail. Although the number of people who make their purchases online is rising, conversion is still a big issue. The bounce rates are high, but it seems that many retailers are not willing to do anything about it. […]

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Ecommerce conversion rate is one of the most important, and yet the most neglected aspects of online retail. Although the number of people who make their purchases online is rising, conversion is still a big issue. The bounce rates are high, but it seems that many retailers are not willing to do anything about it. Recent research shows that 50% of online retailers spend only 5% of their total marketing budget on improving conversion rates.

Ecommerce website owners are usually concerned with increasing the number of visitors. They spend their budget, time, and efforts on bringing their target audience on the site. Those businesses usually report conversion rates of less than 1%. What is more worrying is the fact that some online retailers don’t even manage to track their conversion rates.

Abandoned shopping carts shouldn’t be something that ecommerce retailers are used to seeing. The ecommerce conversion rate needs to be in your primary focus if you are an online retailer. Bringing visitors to the site is great, but what is the use of it if they are not buying what you have to offer?

pay attention to your ecommerce conversion rate as it can make or break your business

6 ways to improve your ecommerce conversion rate

You may think you have done everything there is to motivate conversions on your site. However, consumer behavior is changing all the time, and you need to constantly work on improving consumer experience on your site. There are a few practices which are commonly known and used by many online retailers. But there are also some areas which are often overlooked, even though they can help a lot in your efforts for increasing the conversion rate.

1. Homepage promotions

You probably already know that your homepage is often the one page on your site that affects a visitor’s first impression about your brand. But, are you sure that you use this fact to reap all its benefits? Displaying a promotion on your homepage is a great way to entice customers to buy – especially new ones.

A recent survey reveals that more than 60% of online shoppers consider sales and special offers important factors when making their purchasing decision. Grab their attention with a promotion, and the odds are they will come back to buy again. Put a sales section on your homepage. Offer discounts, specials, free shipping, and similar attractive deals. You can also put a special section that will generate your best-selling products for the week/month.

2. Sense of urgency

It’s a human psychology fact that a sense of urgency motivates people to make decisions fast. When it comes to shopping, the decision is always positive for the retailer. If you manage to persuade your potential customers that this exact moment is their chance to get your product or service, they will buy it. Nobody wants to miss a special opportunity.

Think of a good way to create a sense of urgency for your offerings and put it as a header on your website pages. Almost out of stock, last minute sale, free shipping and happy hour/day/month offers can help you significantly increase your ecommerce conversion rate.

It doesn’t matter to which product your last-minute offer refers – put it on every page to make sure that every single visitor can see it and act on it. Just make sure to link the header to the actual offer, so your customers won’t have to search for it. If you don’t put it right there for them, your efforts may go to waste.

customers are more likely to make a purchase when under a sense of urgency

3. Enable timely “out of stock” notifications

It’s a real bummer when you find the thing you like or need and are ready to buy it, only to discover it’s out of stock. Do not let this happen on your site, because you may lose many customers. Put an availability indicator for all your offers. Include a “you may also like” feature that will offer similar products to your customers when your availability indicator shows the “out of stock” notification.

Another good solution for out of stock items is back-ordering. In case your products are custom made, offer a back-order option and state when your customer can expect their shipping. Use this option when you can estimate when you can re-stock the item. But be careful with this – if you’re not sure when you can deliver the product, do not offer back-orders.

4. Optimize shopping cart for conversions

Make your shopping cart persistent. You can do this by adding a persistent cookie. Make sure that once your customers put products in their shopping cart, they’ll remain there when they return.

Research shows that it’s common for online shoppers to compare products and offers simultaneously as they make the purchase. If they can’t find their products in the shopping cart when they return to your site, they’ll give up. You can also offer options to save the cart or send a link of the cart contents via email.

Another good strategy for improving your ecommerce conversion rate through the shopping cart is to promote shopping cart contents. Avoid the risk of your customers removing items from the shopping cart. Display the contents of the cart at all times while customers are browsing, and put short headlines with the greatest benefits of each product.

Make your shopping carts as customer friendly as possible

5. Put account registration in the background

Do not force your customers to register. Allow guest checkout. Nearly 30% of online shoppers abandon a checkout funnel due to having to register before checking out. If you require potential customers to provide their email address before it is truly necessary, you are risking losing them in the funnel. Offer your customers the option to choose if they want to register or not.

You can automatically create accounts for guest checkouts. This way, guests will only have to fill out their name and email. After that, you can automatically generate a password and send it to them when they complete their order. Remember that it’s all about the user experience on the net. So, make sure to ease this pain point and still get their info for future contact and promotions.

6. Do not let them go easily

Remember – this doesn’t mean that you should annoy your site visitors! It only means that you should make one last effort to motivate them to stay on your website. You can do this by using exit intent tools.

These tools use predictive algorithms that track visitor mouse movements and anticipate when they are about to leave. Before a visitor leaves, a special, irresistible offer pops up and tries to convince them to place at least one order.

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7 Proven Ways to Boost Your Ecommerce Conversion Rate https://www.weismannweb.com/increase-ecommerce-conversion-rate/ https://www.weismannweb.com/increase-ecommerce-conversion-rate/#respond Thu, 27 Aug 2015 20:40:59 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5503 If you are a proud owner of an eye-catching online store, chances are your primary concern is boosting your ecommerce conversion rate. This article includes seven proven tips on how to get your ecommerce customers to spend more and increase your profits. 1. High quality images should be a priority While the first goal of […]

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If you are a proud owner of an eye-catching online store, chances are your primary concern is boosting your ecommerce conversion rate. This article includes seven proven tips on how to get your ecommerce customers to spend more and increase your profits.

1. High quality images should be a priority

While the first goal of every ecommerce business owner is turning visitors into buying customers, the next goal is getting them to purchase even more. In order to increase sales, it is crucial to focus on using high-quality product images. High-quality images are very important since people can’t actually touch products prior to buying them from an online store. Their purchasing decision is mainly based on how much they like the product image.

Moreover, it is always better to have high quality images that show the product from different viewpoints. Ecommerce sites that offer such features are more attractive to customers, because every potential customer wants to take a good look at what they are purchasing. Also, it is great if you can add a zooming option, so people could check out your products up close.    

2. Product descriptions are important

Regardless of the type of products you offer on your ecommerce site, it is always good to provide useful and detailed information about them. People like to read about the product’s performance or contents, so they deserve to get relevant and valuable information. This doesn’t only help customers choose from a few similar products, but shows professionalism and adds value to your business image, too.

But, how much information is sufficient for a potential customer? There is no specific rule about the length of the product description. While some people want a few-word description about the product, others need more in-depth information before they can decide.

3. Video product descriptions make a difference

High quality images are essential, but video product descriptions can make a huge difference in persuading your online visitors to purchase your products. This type of product presentation offers a much better insight into the product; therefore, many online buyers find it very helpful.

Of course, you don’t have to worry about having a video description for every single product right away. You can start by creating a few video product descriptions, for some of the products that you are offering, and see how potential customers will react.

4. Live chat is very effective

Enabling the live chat option to answer product-related questions is helpful for many potential customers. Since customer care and customer service are changing all the time, live chat has been proved as highly effective, especially for new ecommerce businesses. People nowadays are usually very busy and they don’t like wasting their time writing emails and making phone calls to ask about a product.

The live chat is a quick method of communication and a great way to turn an indifferent person into a fan of your products or brand. According to recent studies, over 45% of online customers emphasize the importance of having a live chat. They state that chatting with a real person while deciding on a product or service is one of the most helpful features of any ecommerce business.

5. Create a special section for discounted products

People enjoy sales and special deals. When offered a good deal, they tend to make an impulsive purchase. The latest research studies show that over 50% of online buyers would buy a discounted product, even if they don’t need it. Meanwhile, over 65% of online visitors only check the discount sections of a website, without showing interest in viewing regularly priced products.

When creating a special sale section, it is crucial to highlight it, so that online visitors can easily find it. However, it is always good to avoid using rotating banners, and have a complete new section with all the special offers listed by groups, instead. Try to make this section clearly visible and easy to find.

6. Customization increases ecommerce conversion rate

Customization is always fun and adds a personal touch to otherwise regular products. Everyone enjoys receiving a customized gift – it makes people feel special and appreciated in a very intimate way. But, people also enjoy customizing products by themselves. They love expressing their creativity and wittiness by personalizing clothes, key chains, gadgets and other things they usually use.

This being said, online customers enjoy adding a personal touch to the goods they buy. Providing them with the opportunity to customize the products you offer will make them feel like they are an exclusive customer of yours. With customized product recommendations, you can increase your ecommerce conversion rate and improve your customer experience.

7. Improve the search option

As mentioned previously, people nowadays prefer finding what they need quickly and easily, rather than having to spend hours doing it. They need to find the products on your ecommerce site as quickly as possible, and that’s what makes the search feature essential.

Regardless of the number of products you are offering online, it is good to use the auto-suggest search option. That way, your potential customers can find products in just a matter of seconds. This is especially important when your ecommerce business is growing and expanding, and it’s one of the key features that can boost your ecommerce conversion rate.

Free shipping always leads to higher ecommerce conversion rate

So, you have created an outstanding ecommerce website to offer your products and applied all of the mentioned tips to boost your ecommerce conversion rate. However, your potential customers still decide to make their purchase elsewhere. Why? Because you probably charge them for shipping!

Shipping fees are a well-known conversion rate killer. In order to avoid this and attract more customers, many famous online stores offer free shipping. Some of these stores have specific conditions for the free shipping service, such as placing an order of at least 20 or 50 dollars. So, if you are ready to increase your profit by increasing your ecommerce conversion rate, it is wise to consider free shipping.

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Ecommerce Conversion Optimization – Why Visitors Leave Your Site without Buying https://www.weismannweb.com/ecommerce-conversion-optimization/ https://www.weismannweb.com/ecommerce-conversion-optimization/#respond Wed, 27 May 2015 13:30:00 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5474 So, you have an awesome, creative, and eye-catching website. Moreover, you offer a great range of products and services on this website. According to your statistics, lots of visitors are browsing the website, but for some reason, very few of them end up making an actual purchase! If this is the scenario you are facing, […]

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So, you have an awesome, creative, and eye-catching website. Moreover, you offer a great range of products and services on this website. According to your statistics, lots of visitors are browsing the website, but for some reason, very few of them end up making an actual purchase! If this is the scenario you are facing, it’s clear that you need to think about ecommerce conversion optimization.

Ecommerce conversion optimization basics

The process of ecommerce conversion optimization consists of actions focused on identifying the needs of your customers and finding effective ways to meet them. Therefore, in order to increase your conversion rates, you need to evaluate the behavior of your site visitors.

Do a thorough analysis and take user feedback seriously if you want to improve the performance of your ecommerce website. Identify the core reasons why your site visitors are not making purchases and work on finding solutions. Don’t rely on guesses and subjective opinions. If you want to boost your ecommerce conversion rates, you need more accurate data.

Find the reasons for your low conversion rates and try to fix them. Test the improvements that you make on your site to make sure they are really working. If you need help along the way, do not hesitate to contact the Weismann Web team. Ecommerce conversion optimization is one of our specialties.

Most common reasons why visitors leave your site without buying

Customers are different in terms of wants, needs and triggers that motivate them to make a purchase. However, there are some common reasons that chase people away from using your ecommerce website to buy what they need.

1. They can’t easily find what they are looking for

Browsing an ecommerce site for hours and trying to find the things you need is just as exhausting as spending hours browsing through items in a physical store. Not everyone is willing to do it. Even the most passionate shoppers eventually get tired and leave.

When it comes to online shopping, people expect to find and buy what they need in a matter of minutes or seconds, when and if possible. If you want your ecommerce conversion rate to improve, you have to do your best to meet this expectation.

Simplify your site navigation as much as possible. Provide smooth and fast browsing for your visitors. One of the key factors in your site navigation is the search bar. Approximately 50% of online shoppers use it for navigation. So, make sure that your search bar is highly intuitive, offering fast solutions to visitors’ queries. If you’re offering a wide variety of products, use filters to make the search even faster.

2. They have trouble trusting you

The number of online shoppers is rising, but the issue of security remains a big concern with many people still. Make efforts to earn the trust of your site visitors and you’ll see your ecommerce conversion rate improve. Address all the uncertainties that your customers might have.

First, make sure to share a lot of information about yourself. Write a short introduction letter and tell your story in the “About us” section. Let your visitors know they are dealing with real people who have their own stories and a passion for offering premium products and services. Provide detailed contact information. Display your number in a big sized attention grabbing font, on every page of your site.

Get validated by groups such as TRUSTe and VeriSign. Add trust badges to your site, such as reviews from Yelp and the Better Business Bureau. Provide security seals to assure your customers that their credit card details are kept private. Use relevant product reviews and testimonials.

Give a price match guarantee to assure people they are not getting ripped off. Provide clear information on discounts, shipping, product availability and return policies. Offer various payment options for the ones who are skeptical about giving out their credit card information. Offer free shipping, if and when possible.

3. They are not sure that your offers meet their needs

As an ecommerce website owner, you are aware of the huge competition out there. You need to assure your visitors that you have exactly what they need as soon as they visit your site. Communicate your value proposition clearly and convince people that you are better than everybody else in your field.

Use relevant, high quality images for your products and include the zoom option. Your customers need to be able to see exactly what they’re getting. Put images of your products from various angles. If it’s possible, use videos for some of your products. It helps people see what it’s like to own the product.

Provide detailed product descriptions. Engage your customers and convince them that they really need your product. Don’t try to oversell. Give out all the relevant information, including something more than just the boring technical data. Explain the benefits of the product for the customer. Provide short descriptions with an option to read more details.

4. Your site is too complicated to use

Looking for a way to grab the attention of visitors, many sites end up distracting them, thus hurting their ecommerce conversion rates. Make sure that you only have relevant images, links and text on each page of your site. Don’t let the visitors find themselves looking for the way to buy your products.

Use big, clear and appealing call-to-action buttons instead of textual links. Choose a color that stands out from everything else on the page. Make sure that CTA buttons are consistent throughout the site in terms of position, size, and color. Use only one CTA button per page. Use clear wording for your calls to action.

Never, ever let a customer look for the shopping cart! Make sure that it’s visible at all times, so that your customers can access it whenever they need to. Generally, the upper right corner of the page is an ideal position to place the shopping cart.

5. It takes too long to make a purchase   

One of the most important factors that influence your ecommerce conversion rate is the speed. You have to provide fast and pleasant shopping experience for your customers. What is more important, you need to provide this regardless of the device they use to visit your site.

Make your website mobile-friendly. Ensure the fastest loading speed possible. This will also improve your SEO, which is an important part of ecommerce conversion optimization. Think about the overall design and user experience that you offer on your site.

Speed up the process of purchasing by using short forms. Eliminate any unnecessary form field. Don’t make users enter the same information twice. Pre-fill information wherever you can, such as pre-filling city and state when a user enters their zip code first.

Provide clear progress indicators to tell people where they are in the funnel. Add a live chat option for real-time support regarding any questions your customers might have while making a purchase. This will significantly increase your credibility.

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Common Misconceptions about the Self Hosted Shopping Cart https://www.weismannweb.com/common-misconceptions-about-the-self-hosted-shopping-cart/ https://www.weismannweb.com/common-misconceptions-about-the-self-hosted-shopping-cart/#respond Mon, 27 Apr 2015 13:21:15 +0000 https://www.weismannweb.com/?p=5470 Looking forward to setting up your own business and starting to sell online? Do you have most of the business figured out, but still can’t decide between using a hosted or self hosted shopping cart? This is one of the most essential decisions that any new ecommerce business owner needs to make. Having the right […]

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Looking forward to setting up your own business and starting to sell online? Do you have most of the business figured out, but still can’t decide between using a hosted or self hosted shopping cart? This is one of the most essential decisions that any new ecommerce business owner needs to make. Having the right shopping cart that fits your business needs is crucial. So, choose wisely.

As your business grows, you need to ensure you have the right ecommerce platform which will grow alongside it. Your shopping cart should have all of the features you need, without draining your budget once you start making good sales.

When deciding on the type of shopping cart (hosted or self hosted), remember that each type has its pros and cons. However, it seems as if there are more misconceptions regarding self hosted shopping carts. These are some of the most common false beliefs you’ll come across.

Misconception #1 – Self hosted shopping carts aren’t worth the effort

Why bother with self hosted carts when hosted carts work well with every type of business? The truth is that hosted carts aren’t really that good. For example, if your business spreads globally, you will need to have a multi-lingual website. You will also have to set up pages with different information depending on the specific country where you want to sell your products.

Without a self hosted shopping cart, you’ll probably find it impossible to direct your foreign users to different pages so that they can make a purchase. There are only a few hosted cart solutions that offer this feature.

Using a self hosted cart may be the only way to achieve goals that are essential to your business growth. The more your business grows, the more you’ll need to have full control over your selling tools.

Misconception #2 – You can’t integrate properly with back-end software when using a self hosted shopping cart solution 

This is one of the most common misconceptions related to shopping cart solutions. Many people believe that a hosted shopping cart is a better choice for integrating with back-end software. This comes from the fact that some providers offer solutions for such integration and brag about how “effortlessly” these integrations work. Their marketing makes it seem like the same integrations would not be available to self-hosted solutions.

However, if you do a high volume, you may need a much higher degree of more custom integration with your shopping cart software. This high level of very custom integration may not be possible for you, unless you use a self hosted solution.

Misconception #3 – You have full control over your shopping cart with both solutions equally

This is also a popular misconception about the benefits of a self hosted shopping cart solution. With self hosted carts, you buy the license from a chosen cart company and install the software on a server you control. In case the cart company shuts down, you still have your license and can continue using it for as long as you need.

If you use a hosted solution, you do not own the software. This means that you are paying for service access only, without having control over any changes that the shopping cart company may make to the cart. With self hosted carts, you are in control since you have bought and licensed the software from the cart company.

In case a hosted card company chooses to transform the shopping cart experience in any way, these changes will apply to your website as well. This may not sound like a big issue now, but with large software changes, you may be forced to make crucial adjustments to how you do business. If you don’t make those adjustments, your store may end up not being compatible with the latest software changes and it won’t work effectively.

Misconception #4 – Self hosted shopping carts are expensive

This is another common misconception. Getting started with a hosted cart is usually very affordable. You don’t have to invest in a software license to start selling online. However, the cost of a hosted cart far exceeds the cost of a self hosted one in the long run.

As your business grows, a hosted shopping cart will cost you more than a self hosted cart. The monthly fees for a hosted cart usually increase proportionally to business profitability. This means that the moment you start making big bucks – your expenses will grow accordingly.

Moreover, as your business expands and traffic increases, you may face additional fees that need to be paid. These fees usually include factors such as paying for a high traffic volume and high payment processing fees. On the other hand, if at some point your business faces slow sales, you may be charged a fee for inactivity.

What else do you need to know about the self hosted shopping cart?

The crucial advantage to having a self hosted cart is that you can do whatever you want with it. It’s totally yours and you don’t have to pay any fees to anyone to keep it running. This solution provides you with the opportunity and flexibility to access the code base by yourself and edit the code as you please.

That is how you can create a unique online store for your business, one that is fully customizable, according to your own ideas and preferences. Speaking of customization, hosted shopping carts come with limited customization options. Of course, there are some shopping carts that have many customization options, but the cost of using them can be very high. 

Additionally, being new in the online business world means that you will be required to get verification for PCI (Payment Card Industry) compliance. This is directly related to your shopping cart and the money transactions you expect to have.

PCI refers to specific security standards developed to protect card information during financial transactions, so the compliance is required by all card brands. The requirements for PCI compliance include building and maintaining a secure network to protect the information about the card holder.

This also includes having and updating anti-virus software and implementation of strong access control. Once you get the PCI verification, you are ready to start making profit online.

Self hosted shopping carts require some technical skills and knowledge. However, they open up numerous opportunities for business owners. They may not be as easy to create and maintain as hosted carts, but they are definitely worth the effort.

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